Bengals’ offensive stars on pace for record season

Bengals’ offensive stars on pace for record season

Andy Dalton has made the Pro Bowl twice in his five seasons NFL. Giovani Bernard made the Pro Football Writer’s Association All-Rookie Team in 2013. Jeremy Hill led the NFL in rushing touchdowns in 2015, his second year in the league. A.J. Green has made the Pro Bowl in all five of his seasons in the NFL. Yet, 2016 appears to be a special year for these Cincinnati Bengals offensive stars.

Andy Dalton is in his sixth year as starting quarterback for the Bengals (he stated as a rookie). He is one of four Bengals to throw for over 20,000 career yards and is also one of four Bengals quarterbacks to throw for over 100 career touchdowns. Dalton has led the Bengals to the playoffs in each of his first five seasons.

If Dalton keeps up his current pace through the remainder of the season, he will finish with 4,698 passing yards, a career-high.

Running back duo Giovani Bernard and Jeremy Hill have shared the Bengals’ backfield since 2014. If they maintain their current pace, they will finish with a combined 1,628 rushing yards and 14 rushing touchdowns.

Those numbers would be the second highest combined rushing yards and tied for the high combined touchdowns of any Bengals running back duo in the past ten seasons.

Wide receiver A.J. Green has been the Bengals’ leading receiver every season since he joined the team (and the NFL) in 2011. He surpassed 7,000 career receiving yards in Week 8. He Is one of two receivers in NFL history to have over 1,000 receiving yards in each of his first five seasons, and already has the 17th most receiving yards of any active player

Green is leading the NFL in receiving yards per game in 2016. If he maintains his current pace throughout the remainder of the season, he will finish with 1,792 receiving yards, a career high.

Continued strong offensive performances from these players, and others on the Bengals’ roster, will go a long way towards the team reaching their sixth consecutive postseason.



Elliott Lapin